< Previous | Contents | Next >

Disability Categories

Person with a disability means any person who:

    1) Has a physical or psychological condition which substantially limits one or more major life activities (including walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, and working);
    2) Has a record of such impairment; or
    3) Is regarded as having such an impairment

(ADA, 42 U.S.C. § 12101, et seq).

Disabilities may be divided into separate categories as seen below. However, some disabilities may be included in more than one category. For example, AD/HD, which can fall under both Neurological and Learning Disabilities. Disability categories include but are not limited to:

  • Medical Conditions: e.g., asthma, diabetes, fibromyalgia, HIV- AIDS, cancer, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, traumatic brain injury, multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, lupus, heart disease, Charon’s Disease, sickle cell anemia, epilepsy
  • Psychological Conditions: e.g., anxiety disorder, depression, mania, manic-depression, schizophrenia, recovery from alcoholism and substance abuse, obsessive-compulsive disorder
  • Learning Disabilities: i.e., an inability to receive, process, store, or respond to information, or to speak, listen, think, read, write, spell, or compute
  • Neurological Impairment: e.g., attention deficit disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, brain injury, brain tumor, carpal tunnel syndrome, cerebral palsy, Asperger’s Syndrome
  • Deaf and Hard of Hearing
  • Visually Impaired, Legally Blind, and Blind
  • Mobility Impairment: e.g., arthritis, polio, spinal cord injuries, scoliosis, and other conditions that cause mobility difficulties or result in the use of a cane or wheelchair
  • Temporary Disabilities: i.e., a treatable impairment of mental or physical faculties that may impede the affected person from functioning normally while he or she is under treatment